Smack Apparel

Oklahoma Sports HOF Names Jim Thorpe Award Semifinalists

(Photo by Mark LoMoglio/Icon Sportswire)

Given to the best defensive back in the country, the Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most sought-after accolades in all of collegiate sports. On Monday, the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame, the organization in charge of the trophy, named 16 semifinalists for the 2015 Thorpe Award.

Michigan’s Jourdan Lewis has recently been recognized as one of the best cover-corners in the game, so it comes to no surprise that the Wolverines’ star junior is on the list. Vonn Bell of Ohio State and Desmond King of Iowa were also named as semifinalists.

Vernon Hargreaves of Florida, perhaps the best of all, was also given mention.

According to MGoBlue, the list is as follows:

Clemson sophomore Mackensie Alexander, Ohio State junior Vonn Bell, Duke senior Jeremy Cash, Florida senior Vernon Hargreaves III, Mississippi senior Mike Hilton, Alabama junior Eddie Jackson and Iowa junior Desmond King.

The list also includes: Michigan junior Jourdan Lewis, N. Illinois sophomore Shawun Lurry, Houston senior Adrian McDonald, Oklahoma State senior Kevin Peterson, Florida State junior Jalen Ramsey, Oklahoma junior Zach Sanchez, Arizona State senior Jordan Simone, Boise State senior Darian Thompson, LSU junior Tre’Davious White.

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame will declare a winner Dec. 10, followed by a banquet Feb. 2, 2016, per the award’s website. Past winners include Gerod Holliman of Louisville (2014), Darqueze Dennard of Michigan State (2013), Johnthan Banks of Mississippi State (2012) and Morris Claiborne of LSU (2011).

Follow Adam Biggers of Today’s U on Twitter @AdamBiggers81

Today's U A Division Of Fanrag Sports Strives To Provide You Quality, Professional Journalism Covering All The Latest College Sports News And Information. Our Writers Are Held To A Strict Code Of Conduct And Professionalism. Our Mission Is To Be Your Go-To For All Things College Sports. If You Love College Sports, Today's U Has Something For You!

© 2015-2017 Nafstrops Media, LLC - All Rights Reserved

To Top