Smack Apparel

Matt Leinart and Brian Urlacher Highlight College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

The College Football Hall of Fame ballot for next year’s class was released Tuesday, and highlighting the list of eligible players are Matt Leinart (former USC quarterback) and Brian Urlacher (former New Mexico linebacker). Those two players are appearing on the ballot for the first time.

The 2016 class will be announced on January 8 in Arizona (site of the College Football Playoff championship game). The National Football Foundation released the names of the players and coaches up for the honors, and there are plenty of good candidates to choose from.

More from the Associated Press (h/t ESPN):

Leinart won the Heisman and led the Trojans to the national championship in 2004. Heisman winners Eric Crouch (2001) and Rashaan Salaam (1994) are also among the 76 players FBS up for election.
Urlacher was the Mountain West player of the year in 1999 before having a standout career with the Chicago Bears.
Other notable first-timers on the ballot include: Kansas State’s Michael Bishop, Florida State stars Derrick Brooks and Terrell Buckley, Penn State’s Kerry Collins, Purdue’s Rod Woodson, Texas A&M’s Day Nguyen, Michigan State’s Morten Andersen and Washington State’s Mike Utley.

Some of the coaches on the ballot include Jim Carlen, Pete Cawthon, Danny Ford, Billy Jack Murphy and Darryl Rogers.

Today's U A Division Of Fanrag Sports Strives To Provide You Quality, Professional Journalism Covering All The Latest College Sports News And Information. Our Writers Are Held To A Strict Code Of Conduct And Professionalism. Our Mission Is To Be Your Go-To For All Things College Sports. If You Love College Sports, Today's U Has Something For You!

© 2015-2017 Nafstrops Media, LLC - All Rights Reserved

To Top