Smack Apparel

Duke’s Grayson Allen highlights AP pre-season All-America Team

Fred Kfoury III/Icon Sportswire

With the college basketball season just a little more than a week away, the Associated Press released its preseason All-America team on Wednesday.

The first team consists of Duke guard Grayson Allen, Villanova guard Josh Hart, Iowa State guard Monte Morris, Oregon forward Dillon Brooks and Cal big man Ivan Rabb.

Allen received the most votes, garnering 61 out of a potential 65 votes. Although, he has his detractors, it’s hard to deny Allen’s supreme talent. The junior wing is coming off a season in which he averaged 21.6 points, 4.6 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game.

Rabb received the second most votes with 57. If you recall, Rabb was projected to be 2016 first-round NBA draft pick, but decided to stay an additional year on the Berkeley campus.

Meanwhile, Hart received 53 votes.

Hart was recently named the pre-season Big East Player of the Year. He also turned down the NBA and he is back to help Villanova repeat as national champions. Hart is the first Villanova player named to the Associated Press pre-season All-America team since Kerry Kittles was selected prior to the 1995-96 season.

Brooks (30 votes) and Morris (24 votes) round out the five honorees on the Associated Press First Team.

The interesting note about the selections of Brooks and Rabb is the fact that this is the first time that both California and Oregon have members on the Associated Press pre-season All-America Team.

Just missing the cut for the first team was Indiana’s Thomas Bryant and freshmen studs Markelle Fultz (Washington) and Josh Jackson (Kansas). They all received received 18 votes.

Today's U A Division Of Fanrag Sports Strives To Provide You Quality, Professional Journalism Covering All The Latest College Sports News And Information. Our Writers Are Held To A Strict Code Of Conduct And Professionalism. Our Mission Is To Be Your Go-To For All Things College Sports. If You Love College Sports, Today's U Has Something For You!

© 2015-2017 Nafstrops Media, LLC - All Rights Reserved

To Top